Raising Literacy Australia Inc. is governed by a professional board, each member bringing a unique set of skills to the organisation. Board members include:

Carolyn Mitchell, Chair
Carolyn has over 30 years’ experience as a commercial lawyer and is currently Chair of the Raising Literacy Australia Board. Carolyn has supported RLA since its inception in 2003 and is passionate about supporting the work of not-for-profits. Carolyn’s extensive knowledge of governance, risk management and legal compliance combined with strong diplomacy skills make her a valuable asset to the RLA team. 

Matthew Holden, Deputy Chair and Treasurer
Matthew is a Partner at Brentnalls SA Chartered Accountants, working primarily with small to medium businesses in the areas of taxation and business advisory services.  He has developed an interest and specialises in clients within the medical professions, primary producers, retail industries and property developers.  Matthew graduated from the University of Adelaide in 2001 and became a Chartered Accountant in 2004. He has been involved with not-for-profit entities his whole career, serving as treasurer on various sporting and community organisations, and is actively involved as a member and Treasurer of the Rotary Club of Adelaide South. Matthew joined the Board in 2012.

Melvin Mansell
Melvin is the Editorial Director for News Corporation in SA, NT and TAS; with editorial responsibility for The Advertiser, Sunday Mail,, Messenger Newspapers, Northern Territory News, Sunday Territorian, The Hobart Mercury and The Sunday Tasmanian. Melvin’s career has taken him to The Telegraph and Observer in Britain, to The South China Morning Post in Hong Kong, and to senior positions on the news desk of the Sydney Daily Telegraph. With two children of his own, Melvin is a passionate advocate of early childhood literacy and has been closely involved since the organisation’s inception in 2004.

Paul Lecher
Paul is a widely experienced General Manager having held senior roles at Australia Post and Prosegur, Paul is currently Sales & Business Development Director – Australasia at Intertek.  In previous roles Paul has supported many programs in conjunction with National Literacy and Numeracy Week and the arts.   One program lead by Paul was awarded an Australian Business Arts Foundation Community Award.  In 2008 he was awarded Tasmanian Young Businessman of the Year.   Paul is an active ambassador for reading with his three young children. Paul joined the Board in 2010 and became Chair in 2014.

Nicholas Linke
Nicholas is the lead partner in Fisher Jeffries Insurance and Employment Groups. He practises in contentious insurance and employment law and commercial litigation in the Federal Courts, the Supreme, District and Industrial Relations Courts of South Australia, the Fair Work Commission and the Australian Human Rights Commission.  Nicholas is an avid supporter of the arts and is on numerous boards and committees, heavily supporting the arts sector in South Australia through Fisher Jeffries. Nicholas has been on the Board since the organisation’s inception in 2004.

Dr Ruth Starke
Ruth worked for two decades in marketing before returning to academic study at Flinders University, when she also began writing children's fiction. She now has a PhD in English and has published 25 books for young people. She was appointed Writer in Residence at Flinders in 2005 and currently supervises postgrads doing PhDs in Creative Writing.  She is a past Chair of the SA Writers Centre, and a judge (2006-2012) of the Colin Thiele Literary Fellowship; she convened the 2013 judges’ panel for the Festival Awards for Literature (YA) and is the children's fiction reviewer for Australian Book Review.  Ruth is a mother of two and passionate grandmother, joining the Board in 2013.

Miriam Weir
Miriam is a communications professional, with fifteen years experience gained in Australia and the UK across senior roles in PR, Marketing and Event Management at some of the world’s biggest brands. Most recently, she has co-directed one of Adelaide’s leading strategic PR agencies, looking after a diverse range of clients from Adelaide Casino to the Clipsal 500 and large-scale theatrical productions Cirque du Soliel and Cavalia.  A journalism graduate from Western Australia’s Curtin University, Miriam also runs an e-commerce lifestyle and entertaining website, is a contributing writer to several high-profie blogs and digital magazines and as a new mother; is passionate about early childhood literacy. Miriam joined the Board in 2016.

Raising Literacy Australia would like to thank it's past Board Members for their support. They include:

John Irving, Nicole Haack, Dr Kerry Kavanagh, Paul Shaw, Patricia Genat, Teresa Brook, Sean Williams, Professor Nicholas Jose and Stephanie Williams.